Our photo favourites from the "Femmes de Provence" exhibition

The last washerwomen

Six guides gave tours of the "Femmes de Provence" exhibition during Heritage Days in September 2022. Our six volunteers chose from among the 63 photos on display. They recount their favorite photos and the anecdotes they evoke. Stories by Christèle Henriot, Nadia Nanot, Nadine Bérenguier, Jean-Pierre Serra, André Abbe and François Abbe.

Christèle: fisherman's wife

Remaillage des filets à Villefranche sur mer (Alpes Maritimes) en 1995 - Madame Roux, épouse de pêcheur, sur le quai du port - Photo André Abbe

The framing, the color (which comes out so much better on paper), the action. I like everything about it.

It's the fisherman's wife assisting her husband. We're in the 80s. Many women had their own trades. But here we're assisting the husband's trade. And this woman puts her heart into it. This gives the story a collegial dimension...

Swiss chard tart

Madame Daniel, a restaurateur in Lieuche in the Alpes Maritimes, was a specialist in tarte aux blettes - Photo André Abbe

You can feel the woman's composure. Who are these people around her? The photo gives the impression that she's a well-known woman. When you know that her specialty is Swiss chard pie, you have to take your hat off to her. Here we find the pride and modesty of mountain people.

Grandma in Converse

A woman brings flowers to the Good Mother in the Vallée du Cians - Alpes Maritimes, September 1995

She's a puny little granny. She comes to the oratory, very religious. Very careful, with her apron. And the detail: the rebel with Converse shoes on her feet. I think that's exceptional! Voilà!

"She's a terrible lady," said a Belgian woman visiting the exhibition.

Chevrière

Shepherdess in the garrigue at Bourdiguet (Gard) in the 80s - Photo André Abbe

She's not a shepherdess, she's a goatherd. A cape that takes us back in time. We don't know her face. A woman committed to a hard, practical trade. Her presence surrounded by her goats in the forest. Her courage. She lives her passion. Is that not true?

In the arms of the Maurette

Notre Dame de la Roquette, in the commune of Le Muy (Var), not far from the boundary with Roquebrune sur Argens, was the preferred meeting place for families and young people from both villages. On this May 1st, 1975, the picnic over, the balèti was packed. The thinnest had crossed the holy hole. Photo André Abbe

A spring rushes down from the brown rock,
The girls of Roquebrune come with their big tote bags,
The gentle sound of the water welcomes them,
And gradually gives way to the lively thumping of the beaters mingling with the clatter
The stream makes so early,
A strong harmony unites them.
On the blessed bank,
Kneeling on the rock, barefoot and bare-armed,
Girls with weathered complexions, their weary faces brightened by the dawning spring sun.
Time suspended, a wash in the large iron basin placed in
the fresh grass,
Soon blued by this still cold spring, this clear morning
La Maurette holds out its arms, welcoming them, tinting the long streams of water in
this transparent space
It offers the promise of a time of palaver,
In the shade of the tall trees,
They'll spend the morning here, then head off to tend to the cooking pot,
The meal is ready,
Some take care of the laundry for others,
While the spring makes a gentle sound of trembling bells,
Laughter and sometimes miserable words spread out,
Confided as if to exorcise the days gone by.
Soon the spring will soothe the aches of these mothers, these women who
find themselves at La Maurette;
The stream resumes its course with promises to tell others very
soon,
The heart soothed and the laundry dried,
These women with the grace of a May painting
Take up their burden letting the morning slip away leaving the echo of the
beaters.
Their hearts lighter, their beautiful arms still dripping with water droplets,
under the midday sun.

Nadia NANOT

A few anecdotes from the daily life of the women of Provence

Gaby, a German grape-picker, helps André Abbe place the canestèu host on his shoulder. At the family bastide in Roquebrune sur Argens (Var), 1982

It was a great pleasure, and above all a great privilege, to be able to offer a group of dear friends a chance to discover André "Dédé" ABBE's photo exhibition, organized by the "Abbe Photo" Association as part of the European Heritage Days on the theme "Women of Provence - 1970/2000" ...
It's always a moving experience for me to return to this 16th-century family home, after having first recalled the millenary past of our village by strolling through its historic heart, and to comment on the more than sixty photos hanging on these walls steeped in history...
Once again this year, many of them took me back to periods of my life, full of wonderful memories, as the 70s were "those of my 20s", the 80s "those of my children" and the 90s "those of the First Magistrate" of this Commune where I was "born", where I grew up and where I've always lived ...
It's always fascinating for me to share a few anecdotes about these scenes from the daily lives of the women of Provence, but also about some of the high points in the life of the villages in our Commune, our Département and even our Region, as well as about ancestral activities and/or traditions that we hold dear ...
All the more so as the group I guided this year included women who had shared some of these slices of life, as well as one of my friends, "troupelen", "felibre" and still a player in Tropezian traditions, who was far more competent than I to comment on scenes of bravado and/or Provençal festivities ...
So it's not easy to isolate some of the photos or scenes from daily life and meet the demands of this exercise in restitution ...
So I'll start with some of the highlights that I've commented on, along with more personal anecdotes ...

Harvest

Harvesting in the family vineyard in the Planet district in the 1980s. The vines were later uprooted in 1988 - Photo André Abbe

The first is, of course, harvest time, so much a part of my youth, having shared it with various teams on the Argens plain or on the Roquebrun hillsides, pruning shears in hand or "canestéou" on the shoulder, even at the wheel of a tractor, or in the family warehouse loading and unloading crates for the "wine grape" seasons...

Harvest

Mid-Lent float in 1978 in the main street of Roquebrune sur Argens (Var) - Photo André Abbe

The second is the emblematic events that were our "Corsos Fleuris" during "Mi-Carême", but also the "Foire Artisanale" which became the "Journées Artisanales", then the "Journées des Métiers d'Art", as well as the "Fête du 1er Mai" in La Roquette, and the "fêtes votives" in our villages, where boules competitions, particularly in the "jeu provençal" (editor's note: "à la longue"), were an integral part of the festivities...

Miquèla Bramerie

Miquela and the Chapacans at La Sainte Baume - Var - Photo André Abbe

Finally, I'd like to conclude with a reference to one of the great ladies of Provençal and Occitan song...
Indeed, through these photos taken with her group "Les Chapacans" during a concert at the Sainte-Baume, I rediscovered the woman who, along with other "figures" from the Var and/or Occitan regions, had shared with us, through their compositions, these battles for the identity of our Provence, for the preservation of our language, for the defense of Occitania and our traditions, so dear to our hearts in our youth, but also still today...
This was Miquelà BRAMERIE, who also honoured the exhibition with his presence the following day ...
A big bravo to the whole team for the work accomplished ...
A big thank you to François and "Dédé" for this tasting of "Madeleines de Proust", always so tasty and shared with loved ones ...
See you next year for sure ...

Jean-Pierre SERRA

The Liberation or its reconstruction?

Liberation Day re-enactment on August 15th - Le Muy (Var)
The Liberation re-enactment - Le Muy (Var) - Photo André Abbe

This photo by André Abbe is timeless. It is one of the rare digital photos in the "Femme de Provence" exhibition. The Liberation re-enactment in the village of Le Muy (Var) inspires. So inspiring, in fact, that an incredible number of visitors thought they recognized a relative, or even an ancestor.

The funniest anecdote: the colors are reminiscent of an old photo. But the photo dates from the year 2000. However, someone recognized a distant relative. The person thought the photo dated from August 15, 1044. But the photographer was born on August 17... 1944 (the day Roquebrune-sur-Argens was liberated!). The myth lives on!

François Abbe

Related articles

Réponses

Nos coups de cœur photo de l’expo « Femmes de Provence »

Les dernières lavandières

Six guides ont fait visiter l’exposition « Femmes de Provence » pendant les journées du patrimoine en septembre 2022. Nos six bénévoles ont choisi parmi les 63 photos exposées. Ils racontent leurs photos préférées et les anecdotes qu’elle évoquent. Récits de Christèle Henriot, Nadia Nanot, Nadine Bérenguier, Jean-Pierre Serra, André Abbe et François Abbe.

Christèle : femme de pêcheur

Remaillage des filets à Villefranche sur mer (Alpes Maritimes) en 1995 - Madame Roux, épouse de pêcheur, sur le quai du port - Photo André Abbe

Le cadrage, la couleur (qui ressort tellement mieux sur papier), l’action. Tout me plaît dans cette photo.

C’est la femme de pêcheur qui assiste son mari. On est dans les années 80. Beaucoup de femmes avaient leur propre métier. Mais là on est dans l’accompagnement du métier du mari. Et cette femme y met tout son cœur. Cela donne une dimension collégiale à cette histoire…

Tarte aux blettes

Madame Daniel restauratrice à Lieuche dans les Alpes Maritimes était spécialiste de la tarte aux blettes - Photo André Abbe

On sent la femme posée. Qui sont ces gens qui l’entourent ? La photo fait sentir que c’est une femme reconnue. Quand on sait que sa spécialité est la tarte aux blettes, on a envie de dire chapeau Madame. On retrouve ici la fierté et la pudeur des gens de la montagne.

Mamie en Converse

Une femme apporte des fleurs à la Bonne Mère dans la Vallée du Cians - Alpes Maritimes en septembre 1995

C’est une petite mamie chétive. Elle vient à l’oratoire, très croyante. Beau de précautions, avec son tablier. Et le détail : la rebelle avec des Converse aux pieds. Je trouve ça exceptionnel ! Voilà !!

“Elle est terrible cette dame” a confié un femme belge qui visitait l’exposition.

Chevrière

Chevrière dans la garrigue à Bourdiguet (Gard) dans les années 80 - Photo André Abbe

Ce n’est pas une bergère, c’est une chevrière. Une cape qui transpose dans un temps ancien. On ne connaît pas son visage. Une femme qui s’investit dans un métier dur qui se pratique. Sa prestance entourée de ses chèvres dans la forêt. Le courage. Elle vit sa passion. Est-ce que c’est faux ?

Dans les bras de la Maurette

Notre Dame de la Roquette, sur la commune du Muy (Var), nom loin de la limit avec Roquebrune sur Argens, était le lieu de rencontre privilégié entre les familles et les jeunes des deux villages. En ce 1er mai 1975, le pique-nique terminé, il y avait un monde fou au balèti. Les plus minces avaient traversé le saint Trou. Photo André Abbe

Une source dévale de la roche brune,
Les filles de Roquebrune viennent avec leurs grands cabas,
Le doux bruit de l’eau les accueille,
Et laisse place peu à peu aux coups vifs des battoirs où se mêle le fracas
Que fait le ruisseau si tôt,
C’est une forte harmonie qui les unie.
Sur la rive bénie,
À genoux sur le roc, les pieds nus et nu-bras,
Les filles au teint buriné, le visage las éclairci par le soleil naissant du printemps.
Le temps suspendu, une lessive dans la large bassine de fer déposée dans
l’herbe fraîche,
Bientôt bleuie par cette source encore froide, ce matin clair
La Maurette tend ses bras, les accueille faisant teinter les longs filets d’eau dans
cet espace transparent
Il offre la promesse d’un temps de palabre,
À l’ombre des grands arbres,
Elles y passeront la matinée et repartiront s’occuper de la marmite,
Le repas est prêt,
Certaines se chargent du linge pour d’autres,
Tandis que la source fait un doux bruit de clochettes tremblantes
Que les rires et parfois les dires de misère viennent s’étaler,
Confiés comme pour exorciser les journées écoulées.
Bientôt la source viendra apaiser les maux de ces mères, de ces femmes qui se
retrouvent à la Maurette ;
Le ruisseau reprend son cours avec des promesses de s’en raconter d’autres très
bientôt,
Le cœur apaisé et le linge à sécher,
Ces femmes avec la grâce d’un tableau de mai
Reprennent leur fardeau laissant filer le matin qui s’étire laissant l’écho des
battoirs.
Le cœur plus léger, leurs beaux bras encore ruisselants de gouttelettes d’eau,
sous le soleil de midi.

Nadia NANOT

Quelques anecdotes de la vie quotidienne des Femmes de Provence

Gaby, vendangeuse allemande, aide André Abbe à placer la hôte dite canestèu sur son épaule. A la bastide familiale de Roquebrune sur Argens (Var) en 1982

Un grand bonheur et surtout un grand privilège que d’avoir pu cette année encore, disposer d’un créneau pour faire découvrir à un groupe d’amies et amis très chers, l’exposition de photos d’André « Dédé » ABBE, proposée par l’Association « Abbe Photo » dans le cadre des Journées Européennes du Patrimoine sur le thème « Femmes de Provence – 1970/2000 » …
Toujours émouvant pour moi de retrouver cette Maison Familiale datant du 16e siècle, après avoir au préalable rappelé le passé millénaire de notre Village par une déambulation dans son Cœur Historique, et de pouvoir commenter les plus de soixante photos accrochées à ces murs chargés d’histoire …
D’autant que cette année encore, bon nombre d’entre elles m’ont ramené vers des périodes de ma vie, chargées de magnifiques souvenirs, puisque les années 70 ont été « celles de mes 20 ans », les années 80 « celles de mes enfants » et les années 90 « celles de Premier Magistrat » de cette Commune où je suis « né », où j’ai grandi et où je vis depuis toujours …
Toujours aussi passionnant pour moi que livrer quelques anecdotes sur ces scènes de la vie quotidienne des Femmes de Provence, mais aussi sur certains de ces temps forts de la vie des villages de notre Commune, de notre Département voire de notre Région, comme d’ailleurs sur activités ancestrales et/ou traditions qui nous sont chères …
D’autant que le groupe que j’ai guidé cette année, comprenait des femmes qui avaient partagé certaines de ces tranches de vie, mais aussi l’un de mes amis « troupelen », « felibre » et toujours acteur des traditions tropéziennes bien plus compétent que moi pour commenter les scènes de bravades et/ou de fêtes provençales …
Pas évident donc d’isoler, certaines des photos ou certaines des scènes de la vie quotidienne et de répondre aux exigences de cet exercice de restitution …
Aussi, je retiendrai d’abord quelques-uns des temps forts que j’ai commentés avec des anecdotes plus personnelles …

Vendanges

Les vendanges dans la vigne familiale quartier du Planet dans les années 80. Les vignes ont ensuite été arrachées en 1988 - Photo André Abbe

Le premier est bien sûr le temps des vendanges, tant il a rythmé la majeure partie de ma jeunesse, pour l’avoir partagé avec des équipes diverses dans la plaine de l’Argens ou sur les coteaux roquebrunois, sécateur à la main ou « canestéou » sur l’épaule, voire même au volant d’un tracteur, ou encore dans l’entrepôt familial en chargeant et déchargeant les caisses pour les saisons des « raisins de cuve » …

Vendanges

Char de la mi-carême en 1978 dans la grand Rue de Roquebrune sur Argens (Var) - Photo André Abbe

Le second est celui des manifestations emblématiques, qu’étaient nos « Corsos Fleuris » durant la « Mi-Carême », mais aussi « La Foire Artisanale » devenue « Journées Artisanales », puis « Journées des Métiers d’Art », ainsi que « La Fête du 1er Mai » à La Roquette ou encore ces fêtes votives de nos villages où les concours de boules, notamment au jeu provençal (NDLR : à la longue ») faisaient partie intégrante des festivités …

Miquèla Bramerie

Miquela et les Chapacans à la Sainte Baume - Var - Photo André Abbe

Enfin, c’est par une référence à l’une des grandes dames de la chanson provençale et occitane, que je souhaite conclure …
En effet, à travers ces photos avec son groupe « Les Chapacans » lors d’un concert à la Sainte-Baume, que j’ai retrouvé celle qui avec d’autres « figures » varoises et/ou occitanes, nous avaient fait partager à travers leurs compositions, ces combats pour l’identité de notre Provence, pour la préservation de notre langue, pour la défense de l’Occitanie et de nos traditions, si chères à nos cœurs dans notre jeunesse, mais aussi encore aujourd’hui …
Il s’agit de Miquelà BRAMERIE, qui de plus, a honoré de sa présence l’exposition le lendemain …
Un grand bravo à toute l’équipe pour le travail accompli …
Un grand merci à François et à « Dédé » pour cette dégustation de « Madeleines de Proust » toujours aussi savoureuse et de plus partagée avec des êtres chers …
A l’année prochaine certainement …

Jean-Pierre SERRA

La Libération ou sa reconstitution ?

Reconstitution de la fête de la Libération le 15 août - Le Muy (Var)
La reconstitution de la Libération - Le Muy (Var) - Photo André Abbe

Cette photo d’André Abbe est intemporelle. Elle fait partie des rares photos numériques de l’expo « Femme de Provence ». La reconstitution de la Libération au village du Muy (Var) inspire. Elle inspire tellement qu’un nombre incroyable de visiteurs ont cru reconnaître un parent, voire un ancêtre.

L’anecdote la plus drôle : les couleurs font penser à une photo ancienne. Or la photo date des années 2000. Cependant, quelqu’un a reconnu un lointain parent. La personne pensait que la photo datait du 15 août 1044. Or le photographe est né le 17 août… 1944 (jour de la Libération de Roquebrune-sur-Argens !). Le mythe court toujours !

François Abbe

Related Articles

Responses